Overview of EDU Management

How EDU User Management works: Schools, Classes, modifying User Roles, and transferring Ownership

Kim Smith avatar
Written by Kim Smith
Updated this week

Jump to:


Creating an EDU School

When you sign up for an EDU account or subscribe to an EDU Premium or Plus plan, you are creating an EDU School for your users. When you sign up for an EDU account or subscribe to a group EDU plan, you are considered the Owner of the School.

As the Owner, you are the only user authorized to access or modify account billing and subscription settings. Also as the Owner, you will have to start with adding other users to your School. The Owner can also designate user roles: Teachers and Students. Users you assign as Teachers are considered admins, and may also access EDU Management to manage users.

Only the Owner and Teachers can access the EDU Management settings. Users assigned as Students cannot access the settings or otherwise view any information about other users in their Class or School.

Before adding users to your School, the Owner may need to set up Classes. Users added to your School are organized by Classes. Your total user maximum may be restricted by your subscription plan, but a Class may have a maximum of 100 users and you may create a maximum of 20 Classes. Keep in mind that the Owner is also counted as a seat towards your total user maximum.

Only the School Owner can manage (create, rename, or delete) Classes. By default, a Class is already set up for your EDU School called Default Class.

Visit our Managing EDU Classes article for detailed steps on how to create, modify, or delete Classes.


Accessing EDU Management

Only the Owner or Teachers can access the EDU Management settings, and they can be opened from the Account section in the web app.

EDU Management can be accessed from the web app version only. It cannot open from the mobile app.

  1. Open the web app. If you are already logged in, skip to Step 3.

  2. Login to your user account by going to Account and selecting Login

  3. Once you are logged in, return to Account and select EDU Management

By default, EDU Management opens to the Member List of the last Class you accessed. You will find the Class drop-down menu in the top right (eg Default Class in the above image). Use the Class drop-down menu and select a Class to view its Member List.


Changing Your EDU School's Name

Your EDU School will have a default name. The Owner can change this from the School Information settings in EDU Management.

  1. Open the web app. If you're already logged in, skip to Step 3. If you're already in the EDU Management settings, skip to Step 4.

  2. Login to your user account by going to Account and selecting Login

  3. Once you are logged in, return to Account and select EDU Management

  4. Select School Information from the left side menu

  5. Next to School Name, select Edit

  6. Type in the new name

  7. Select Update to finish and save


EDU User Roles

There are 3 user types in NaturalReader EDU: Owner, Teacher, and Student. All users have access to the same text-to-speech features but only Owners and Teachers can access the EDU Management settings to modify users or user roles and add content to the EDU Library.

Below is an overview of core features and allowances. Visit our Features article for a full list of free and paid features.

Visit our article on Managing EDU Users for steps on how to modify user roles.

Owner

When you open up an EDU School account or purchase an EDU subscription, you become the Owner of your EDU School.

If you are on a subscription, as the Owner, only you may cancel or renew your EDU School's subscription from your own account's Subscription & Billing settings.

For the EDU Management settings, only the Owner can create or delete a Class. Owners can also invite or delete users or change user roles.

Teacher

Users designated as Teachers are admins and can also access the EDU Management settings. Like the Owner, they may invite and delete users, change users' roles, or upload to the EDU Library, but they cannot create or delete Classes. Teachers cannot view billing details or modify subscription settings.

Student

All user types have the same access to the apps' features, except that Students are not permitted to access the EDU Management settings. Students cannot view billing details, modify subscription settings, or view Class and School member lists.

They can access, but not contribute to, shared documents the Owner or a Teacher adds to their Class' EDU Library.


Transfer EDU School Ownership

If you need to transfer ownership of your EDU School to a new Owner, please send us a request to transfer. Only the Owner can access the request to transfer option in the EDU Management settings. If you are sending the request to us directly by email, please have the Owner send the email so we can verify that the transfer request is authorized.

  1. Open the personal web app. If you're already logged in, skip to Step 3. If you're already in the EDU Management settings, skip to Step 4.

  2. Login to your user account by going to Account and selecting Login

  3. Once you're logged in, return to Account and select EDU Management

  4. Select School Information from the menu on the left

  5. Select Request Transfer Ownership

  6. Enter the email address of the new Owner

  7. Select Send to finish submitting the request


Delete your EDU School

If you are not currently subscribed, you may prefer to delete your EDU School if you are not using it. Only the Owner can delete the School. We do not advise that you to delete your School if you have an active subscription.

Deleting a School removes all your users School and deletes all your Class' EDU Library contents

  1. Open the personal web app. If you're already logged in, skip to Step 3. If you're already in the EDU Management settings, skip to Step 4.

  2. Login to your user account by going to Account and selecting Login

  3. Once you're logged in, return to Account and select EDU Management

  4. Select School Information from the left side menu

  5. Select Delete School

  6. If you're sure you want to delete the School and its resources, confirm and finish by selecting Delete

Did this answer your question?